How the sync queue & logging works

Since QuickBooks Desktop doesn’t have a standard API to use for integrations, our syncing solution uses a combination of our proprietary WordPress plugin + the Intuit Web Connector. For more information on how our sync works, read our article here.

Queuing

Our integration uses a queue structure to sync data from WooCommerce to QuickBooks Desktop. This means that when an order, customer, product, or more is added or updated in WooCommerce, a syncing activity is added to our plugin queue. Our queue can be viewed at any time in MyWorks Sync > Queue.

Once a sync activity is added to the queue, this activity will be synced into QuickBooks Desktop the next time the QuickBooks Web Connector application is run. This can be done manually by clicking Update Selected, or you can set the QuickBooks Web Connector to “AutoRun” every X minutes. A recommended value for this is every 10-60 minutes. Read more on the QuickBooks Web Connector here.

The default view of the Queue page is set to show Pending queue activity that is waiting to be synced into QuickBooks Desktop. You can clear this activity by clicking Clear Pending Activity button at the bottom, or by clicking the trash icon next to a specific activity. You can also view Previous (already synced) or All activity using the filter on the top.

Logging

When the QuickBooks Web Connector runs (either manually or during autorun), it will first log a “successfully authenticated” entry in your Log, which is found in MyWorks Sync > Log. Then, it will capture the current pending Queue activity and sync it into QuickBooks Desktop.

The queue will then be emptied, however you can view Previous queue activity by using the filter on the top of the Queue page – or by visiting MyWorks > Log to see the log of syncing activity that has taken place. 

All sync successes and errors will be recorded on this Log page. The error description usually details a specific reason why the specific syncing activity errored out. Once the error has been resolved, you may visit the Push section of the plugin to push the related data into the queue for syncing again.

Updated on January 9, 2019

Was this article helpful?